Now Reading
Angelina Jolie, Debra Martin Chase Win Tony With Best Musical Win

Angelina Jolie, Debra Martin Chase Win Tony With Best Musical Win

Angelina Jolie, Debra Martin Chase Win Tony With Best Musical Win

Angelina Jolie and Debra Martin Chase took home the Tony Award for best musical for The Outsiders.

The show takes place in Tulsa, Oklahoma, in 2967, when Ponyboy Curtis, his best friend, Johnny Cade and their Greaser family of “outsiders” battle with their rivals, the Socs, according to the musical’s description. Over the course of the show, nominated for 12 Tonys, the family members dream about who they want to be in a world that may never accept them.

The musical was up against Hell’s Kitchen, Illinoise, Suffs and Water for Elephants for the final award of the evening. Among industry members, the best musical category was the most up in the air leading up to the Tony Awards — though Hell’s Kitchen and The Outsiders were viewed by many as the leading contenders. The musical also took home best direction, lighting design and sound design.

The Outsiders‘ Joshua Boone, Brody Grant and Sky Lakota-Lynch took the stage to perform at the 2024 Tonys. Other performances included Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club‘s Gayle Rankin and Eddie Redmayne; Hell’s Kitchen‘s Alicia Keys, Shoshana Bean, Brandon Victor Dixon, Kecia Lewis and Maleah Joi Moon; Illinoise‘s Sufjan Stevens and Justin Peck; Merrily We Roll Along‘s Jonathan Groff, Lindsay Mendez and Daniel Radcliffe; Suffs‘ Nikki M. James and Shaina Taub; Pete Townshend with the cast of The Who’s Tommy; and Water for Elephants‘ Grant Gustin and the musical’s acrobatic cast.

The Tony Awards 2024 aired in two parts on Sunday night, live from New York’s David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center. Act One, aka the preshow, was hosted by Julianne Hough and Utkarsh Ambudkar and featured a presentation of the first round of awards. The main ceremony, hosted by Ariana DeBose, took place immediately after.

See Also
A Potent Somali Family Drama

See Tonys red carpet looks here.

Copyright © MetaMedia™ Capital Inc, All right reserved

Scroll To Top