Now Reading
Teyana Taylor, CAA’s Lorrie Bartlett to Be Honored at Culture Creators Awards (Exclusive)

Teyana Taylor, CAA’s Lorrie Bartlett to Be Honored at Culture Creators Awards (Exclusive)

Teyana Taylor, CAA’s Lorrie Bartlett to Be Honored at Culture Creators Awards (Exclusive)

Teyana Taylor and CAA‘s Lorrie Bartlett are among the honorees who will be recognized at the eighth annual Culture Creators Innovators and Leaders Awards Brunch later this week.

Bartlett will be honored with the Icon Award for her “outstanding contributions to the entertainment industry and her steadfast commitment to advancing diversity and inclusion, while spearheading initiatives promoting equity within Hollywood.” Bartlett’s client roster includes Regina King, Michael Keaton, Samuel L. Jackson, Travis Kelce, Fantasia Barrino, Corey Hawkins, Madelyn Cline, Rachel Zegler, Andra Day, Ruth Negga, Laverne Cox and Josh Duhamel.

Multihyphenate Taylor will be recognized “for her profound influence on music, fashion, film and culture.” Taylor has released albums including KTSE and The Album and appeared in films like A Thousand and One and The Book of Clarence. She’s set to make her feature directorial debut on Get Lite starring Storm Reid.

The invite-only event, presented by BET, takes place June 28 at the Beverly Hilton International Ballroom, two days ahead of the 2024 BET Awards. The event also is a benefit for the Culture Creators Foundation, a nonprofit dedicated to bridging the gap between high school and college and college to graduation for underrepresented students in industries lacking diversity. Funds raised at the brunch will support the 2024 Academic School Year Scholarship Program for the Campus Changemakers, the foundation’s inaugural cohort of students across 35 colleges and universities. 

“At Culture Creators, we believe in the power of diversity to drive innovation and progress,” states Joi Brown, founder of Culture Creators. “This event is a testament to our commitment to amplifying the voices and contributions of individuals from diverse backgrounds. By celebrating these trailblazers, we inspire a new generation of creators and leaders. This is the very reason we founded the Culture Creators Foundation – to create a pipeline that nurtures and supports underrepresented talent, ensuring their impact on culture and society is profound and lasting.”

Additional honorees include Reign Venture Capital co-founder Monique Idlett; BET executive vp/head of specials, music programming and music strategy Connie Orlando; Morning Mindset With Tai’s Tai Beauchamp, FashionBombDaily’s Claire Sulmers; social impact and brand engagement strategist Alencia Johnson; WME Sports’ Cecil White; celebrity stylist duo Wayman + Micah, AI innovator and expert in immersive technology Alton Glass; and Maya and Brian Smith, creators of Black-owned hair care line The Doux.

See Also
The Best Online Luxury Consignment Stores for Designer Resale 2024

Gia Peppers is set to host the event, which will feature performances by Raheem DeVaughn and Infinity Song, with DJ sets by DJ RoseGold. The brunch also will feature conversations about the art of storytelling, leadership, mentorship and empowerment. 

Previous Icon Award recipients include MC Lyte, Busta Rhymes, Andre Harrell, Russell Simmons, Sylvia Rhone, Byron Allen, Swizz Beatz, and L.A. Reid, while past Innovator of the Year honorees include Jesse Collins, Tiffany Haddish, Kevin Liles, Marsai Martin, Derrick “D-Nice” Jones, Robin Thede, and Chloe x Halle. 

Copyright © MetaMedia™ Capital Inc, All right reserved

Scroll To Top